Editor’s Note- October 2013

Note from the Editor

The other day a fellow senior said something to me along the lines of:  “Well, what do we care what happens to the school next year?  We’ll be gone!”  And the words stuck with me.  I don’t consider myself to be characterized by excessive school spirit; in fact, I generally shy away from popular mentalities and abhor nationalism.  However, something about these words rubbed me the wrong way.  It’s true that, as a senior, my time at Edison will be over this June.  But does that mean everything I did here is automatically ejected from the campus, like a graduational garbage chute?  It makes everything seem kind of pointless, to think of it in that way.  Yes, life is transient, and everything we do will eventually fade to dust, etcetera.  But that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t try at all to give our actions significance.  If we don’t, then what’s going to motivate us to do anything in life?  I take pride in my accomplishments, and even my failures- because they’re mine.  And I know they will be mine, a part of the unique amalgamation of memory and personality that compose me as an individual.  I do care what I do this year, because I will carry it with me for the rest of my life.  And I don’t want to know that I didn’t succeed or even fail at accomplishing anything.  Without personal pride, we’re just creatures of motion and not will, following the paths prescribed to us by societal pressures.  I want to be more than this.  That’s why I am proud of this paper, and why I care about it, because it is at least in part my own.  It is something that I share with my writers, my staff, and of course, our readers.  So, even if my legacy is infinitesimal, even if any changes I make are incremental, even if I am forgotten as soon as I toss my hat into the air, I’m still going to try to make it better.  If not for the school, then at least for myself.

 

Thanks for reading,

Christopher Yin

Editor-in-Chief

 

Leave a Reply

