Editor’s Note- April 2014

This is my last issue as Editor-in-Chief.  And these are my last days as a high school student.  Time is a weird thing; I can barely remember the beginning of the year, what it felt like to be working on college apps, running cross country, studying for SAT Subject tests, with the constant knowledge that the end was soon but still far away sitting in the back of my mind.  Well, now the end is just soon.

There are a lot of clichés I could dip into at this point.  And a lot of people embrace those particular clichés we call tradition.  Prom, for instance.  How can a high school experience be complete without attending your senior year prom?  It’s the culmination of four years of social growth, an age-old rite of passage, a celebration of bittersweet endings and glorious beginnings- right?  Well, I’m still not going to prom.  There are many reasons.  One, I’m a stingy miser who’d rather spend money on food or books than on a school dance.  Two, I’m not exactly the most social person.  Yeah, it’s always good to meet new people, but right before I’m about to leave for college?  The end of senior year isn’t exactly the most convenient time to form lasting relationships.  To me it would be more meaningful to spend prom night just with my friends, in a setting of our choosing, rather than to blow a lot of cash on a predetermined event involving large amounts of people whom I don’t really know.

That’s just me.  My point isn’t that traditions are inherently bad; it’s just that when we allow the past of others to dominate our present, I think we lose something.  So when the end is staring at me across a month and a half’s divide, I’m not really focusing on what has been so much as what is and will be.  The Bolt has been something I’ve been incredibly proud of.  I think this year we broke from a kind of apathy and managed to craft a paper with more polished, more creative, and more passionate articles.  And I owe that to my staff, the students who take the time to write about topics that interest them and care enough to share with the rest of the school.

But pretty soon this’ll be my past, and I don’t want my past to obstruct the Bolt’s future.  I’m leaving the paper in very capable hands, hands that are very distinctly not my own.  I don’t expect the paper next year to be exactly the same as the paper this year, because that’s not the point of something like the Bolt.  Ultimately, the paper has always been about people sharing their interests through writing, and since not everyone shares the same interests, it doesn’t make sense to let the paper fall into a set format.  Ralph Waldo Emerson once wrote that “consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds,” and the minds of our writers are anything but little.  So I’m excited to see where the Bolt will go in the future, and I know as long as there are passionate students and passionate readers, it will be something the school can be proud of as well.

 

Thank you for reading,

Christopher Yin

Editor-in-Chief

 

Leave a Reply

