Behind The Teacher’s Desk

teachBehind The Teacher’s Desk
By Hannah Rozenberg

“The mediocre teacher tells. The good teacher explains. The superior teacher demonstrates. The great teacher inspires.”
– William Arthur Ward

Hello fellow Chargers, My name is Hannah Rozenberg, and this is the first article of a new column called “Behind The Teacher’s Desk.” Each issue, I will highlight one of Edison’s extraordinary teachers. This month we will be featuring one of students’ favorite teachers, Mrs. Kelly Loomis. She teaches World History, and Honors World Geography.

Hannah: What do you love about Edison?

Mrs. Loomis: What I love most about Edison is that we are such a close knit community here in Huntington Beach, and that all the parents are really involved and that it’s just really a warm place to work. What I have found is that a lot of teachers want to come back and teach at Edison that went here because it’s just the best high school environment.

Hannah: What were you planning on being before you became a teacher?

Mrs. Loomis: Before I became a teacher, I was not sure what I wanted to be. In college I started tutoring students with special needs and also my brother, who does not have special needs, but just students in general, and that was where I first thought “Hey maybe I would be a good teacher,” because it was something I liked to do and I like to help people, so that was where I sort of discovered that, and I ended up applying for the teaching program after that.

Hannah: What made you want to work at Edison?

Mrs. Loomis: Well, the fact that I went here and graduated in 2001 from Edison, so I had a really great high school experience here, and because I loved my teachers here it was just a place that I thought I wanted to come back and work, and I was lucky enough to do it.

Hannah: If could change one school policy or add a school policy, what would it be and why?

Mrs. Loomis: I don’t know that I would really change anything. I think what we’ve done with cell phones is a really good thing. It used to be that cell phones weren’t allowed at all at school, or they weren’t allowed to be used at school, but now we have more of an open policy and I think that’s a good thing, because it can be very useful for students in the classroom to have to do a quick little research assignment on their phones, it’s really helpful. I do wish we had more computers and more availability to technology. That would be something I wish, every kid could have a laptop.

Hannah: If you could add one meal onto the cafeteria menu, what would it be?

Mrs. Loomis: This is going to sound bad but I have no idea what they serve in the cafeteria because I always bring my own lunch! I guess just healthy options in general, maybe like it would be really cool if the cafeteria would get items from places like Corner Bakery or Panera, that have those healthier salads, it would be a really cool thing.

Hannah: If you could take one of your classes on a school trip, where would you take them and why?

Mrs. Loomis: I would like to take my sophomore world history kids to the Palace of Versailles in France because we learn about the French Revolution, and I would love to take them all over France and actually show them where things happened and be able to let them have the experience, the environment in France is much different than in America, so I think that it would be really cool to take them there, let them have a tour of it and just be able to teach them by witnessing the actual places.

Hannah: What do you value most in your classroom?

Mrs. Loomis: I think what I would value the most is that students are comfortable in my classroom, so I try to make it a place where it’s really inviting and friendly to students. I don’t really have valuables in here that students can’t use. I think, I just want to make this place a place where kids want to be.

Hannah: Who is you teacher role model?

Mrs. Loomis: Well, there’s a lot of teachers on campus I look up to, one of them would be Mr. Bronkar, because I actually had him as a senior at Edison. I felt like he was a really good teacher, he made all of us love English class, and also more importantly, he taught us that if we didn’t get a good grade on the first try, that we could always go back and redo something, and I feel like I have taken that bit of advice and have applied it in my classroom, because if students don’t do well on something, I want them to be able to look at it and be able to see what they missed and improve their score.

Hannah: What is your favorite part of a school day?

Mrs. Loomis: My favorite part of the school day is probably tutorial, because that’s when I can have a one on one opportunity to help students that need extra help.

Hannah: If you could go back in time and visit any period in history, what would it be and why?

Mrs. Loomis: If I could go back in time, I would like to go back to Berlin during the Cold War, and actually be able to cross Check Point Charlie, and witness first hand what it was like to live under a Communist regime. I think that would be really interesting. It would also be very depressing, but it might be interesting at the same time, that would be pretty awesome to see. It would also be awesome to see what life was like when the Founding Fathers constructed our Constitution, that would be really interesting.

If there is a special teacher who inspires you and you would like to know more about, email me at hrozenberg100@student.hbuhsd.edu. Thank you for reading and GOOOOOOOOO CHARGERS!

One response to “Behind The Teacher’s Desk

  1. Pingback: October 2014 Full Issue | The Bolt·

Leave a Reply

